Spicy White Chicken Chili

on

 

WHITECHILI
Slow Cooker series #1 Spicy White Chicken Chili

 

 

It’s been a dreary couple of days here, so I thought I would do a quick slow cooker series before summer comes around. I have a lot of really cool series planned for summer, and I can’t wait to get them started!

For this, I used just a regular 6 quart slow cooker. Like most slow cooker meals, you just put it all in and let it go. I love them. They’re easy, you don’t have to keep checking in on it, and your entire kitchen smells amazing all day long.

You Will Need:
Boneless skinless chicken breast (shredded)
Chicken broth/stock (I will have a recipe for homemade chicken broth soon!)
Half n’ Half (or just milk, whatever. Half n’ Half will make it creamier)
Anaheim peppers
Red Bell peppers
Jalapeno peppers
Red Kidney beans
White beans (such as navy beans, pinto beans…I believe I used pinto beans last time I made this)
Sour Cream
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Chili powder
Chipolte powder
Smoked Paprika

First things first, cook your chicken breast with your chopped up bell and Anaheim peppers. Score your jalapeno and toss it in there as well. You can season it before hand, but it’s not necessary. I did though. Once that’s cooked, leave it aside to cool down before shredding it, unless you want to burn yourself. It’s your life; you do you.

While your chicken’s cooling, fill your crockpot about 1/2-3/4ths of the way full. Add a dollop or so of sour cream, and fill the rest of the way with half ‘n half. Mix the sour cream in with your liquids so everything is smooth and homogeneous. Add your spices. I’d put in the measurements, but I don’t use them…so just add it however you like. You can make this as spicy or as mild as you’d like. If you want to kick the heat up a little more, use a shake or two of Cayenne pepper. Add some salt and pepper to taste, and then throw in your cooked peppers. (I didn’t add the Jalapeno, but you can seed and chop it here if you’d like and add it as well)

Your chicken is probably cooled by now, so go ahead and shred it up. I find just using my hands works best, but if you like to use forks or some other gadget…go ahead. Like I said earlier, you do you. Once it’s all shredded up, add it to the rest of your chili. Drain your beans, add them, give it all one more stir, and lid it. Turn your slow cooker on medium or high for a few hours. Basically, once the aroma starts to fill your kitchen, it’s probably close to done. Give it one more good mix before serving.

Sides:
Asparagus sautéed in garlic butter.
Garlic bread with melted manchego cheese.

Leave a Reply

