Chili

on

Welcome to the 3rd day of the slow cooker series! Today we have slow cooker chili!

I love to make chili in my crockpot because I can start it in the morning, and it’s ready by dinner time. (Like all slow cooker meals…duh, April) Also, my apartment smells AMAZING when it’s time to eat. This is my recipe, and I love making large amounts of it at a time. It freezes really well, and it makes for great chili cornbread. (Recipe for that later on this year)

You Will Need:
6 QT crockpot
3 or 4 cups beef broth
1 lb. ground beef (I like 90/10 for this, but feel free to use whatever)
1 large can tomato sauce
2 cans dark red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
2 cans black beans (drained and rinsed)
1 can pinto beans (drained and rinsed)
1 can great northern beans (drained and rinsed)
1/4 tsp. red pepper flake
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp Chili powder
Black pepper (to taste)
Salt (to taste)
Sugar (a big spoon…so like a tablespoon)

This is another one of those put everything in the pot and let it go until it’s done type of meals. I love these things so much. They make meal prep a breeze and you can freeze whatever you don’t use. So, after browning your meat in a separate pan, put everything in the crockpot and give it all a good mix, set it to medium or high for a few hours, and check in on it every once in a while.

Alex loves my chili because it’s spicy enough for him, but it has just a little bit of sweetness. I know the sugar seems really out of place, but let me explain why it’s added. The sugar will 1) help take away any sort of “tinny” flavor that may be present and 2) cut through the acidity of the tomato sauce. Tomatoes and sugar love each other, so it’s really important to have just a little bit there to take the edge off.

Now remember, the part of cooking that’s most fun is being able to completely customize the flavor profile to your palette. I honestly never measure anything…the measuring spoons and cups I do have were all gifts and are mostly there for show. I only use them when I make pancakes and waffles. I say this because I may use less or more than the amounts I’ve listed in this recipe…it all depends on the day and who I’m cooking for. Use whatever measurements you want, as long as you like it… who cares?!

Thank you all so much for stopping by! Don’t forget to check out my Facebook page, leave a like there, and share it with your loved ones. I love and appreciate y’all so much! See ya tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

