Black bean and Kielbasa soup

on

Welcome to day #4 of the slow cooker series! I took a break yesterday to visit Alex’s grandmother, but I’m back and ready to go! Today we have one of my favorite soups. It’s something that was introduced to me by Alex’s dad, but I’ve tweaked the recipe to make it my own. It freezes really well, so I like to make a lot of it at one time and have it all winter. When freezing this particular soup, I like to do so in multiple smaller Tupperware because when you thaw and freeze the kielbasa over and over it can get chewy and that does not make for a good eating experience.

You Will Need:
6 QT crockpot
2 cans black beans (I like a lot of beans in this soup, but use as much or as little as you like)
1 small bag frozen corn
Kielbasa sausage
Chicken broth
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)

First things first, fill your crockpot about 3/4 of the way with chicken broth. Then, if you want to add some water at the end to stretch it a bit you can. (I usually do). Drain and rinse your beans; add them and the corn to the pool. Shake in your garlic and onion powder, maybe a 1/2 tsp each, I usually just make a small pile in my palm and throw it in. The next step is totally optional, but I like to do it because it melts some of the fat out of the sausage- cut up your Kielbasa and give it a quick sauté before adding it to the pot. This is going to add a huge layer of flavor by melting the fat in the sausage.

Once everything is in the pot, turn it to high and let it go for 2 or 3 hours. Then you can turn it down to low, adding some water if you think you need it, and let it go until diner time. Taste it after a bit to make sure you’re happy with the seasoning. I like to add a little Cayenne pepper when I make it because Alex likes a little zip.

 

I think the next recipe in the slow cooker series will be a dessert that I’ve made a couple times and it’s always turned out fantastic! I will have that up tomorrow! Thank you for reading, I love and appreciate y’all so much!

Leave a Reply

