One Pot Swedish Meatballs with Egg Noodle

The first time I had Swedish meatballs, my dad and stepmom and taken my brother and me up to celebrate Christmas with her family in Minnesota. Being such a picky eater growing up, I’m sure both my dad and stepmom were interested to see what would happen when I was presented something different and no option to have mac and cheese instead. I didn’t like things with ground beef unless it was “tacos”, so I’m sure the idea of me eating a meatball was laughable. In all honesty, I don’t remember what my reaction was, but I have waited impatiently for them every year since. I haven’t been up there to celebrate with them for a few years now, but I found a way to make them on my own…now I just need the recipe for their gravy and I’ll be a happy girl.

This recipe isn’t a true one pot recipe, because you’re going to need a mixing bowl for the beef, but only having one more dish to do isn’t that bad. Normally when I made Swedish meatballs, I substitute the bread crumbs and egg for stuffing. I still sometimes add an egg, but for the most part 2 lbs. of beef to 1 box of stuffing is a good enough ratio. That means I normally have a mixing bowl, sauce pot, and cast iron to clean…not to mention the cooking and eating utensils! Anyway, let’s get cooking!

 

You Will Need:
5 QT dutch oven
1 lb. 80/20 ground beef
1 cup Panko bread crumbs
1/3 cup milk
1 egg
1 Tbsp. butter
32 oz. low sodium chicken stock
3/4 cup half n’ half
1/2 lb. egg noodles
Parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
Cayenne pepper (just a pinch)
1/4 tsp. Oregano
1/2 tsp. Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp. Onion Powder

 

In your mixing bowl, gently combine the beef, egg, milk, Panko, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, and cayenne. Set that aside for a moment and get your dutch oven going over medium-high heat and melt the butter. As the butter melts, divide your beef into 2 inch or so meatballs, add them to the pot, and brown them on both sides. To this, add the half n’ half, more salt, chicken stock, and bring it all to a boil. Reduce down to a simmer and cook until the noodles are done, the internal temperature of the meatballs reaches 165 degrees Fahrenheit, and the sauce has thickened. It should only take about 15 minutes, but check the temperature of the meatballs before turning off the heat.

This dish is great for curling up on the couch on a rainy day or warming up in the dead of winter. You can even double the recipe for the actual meatballs, and freeze them for great meals all season long!

Leave a Reply

