One Pot Beef and Noodle Soup

on

We have a great Vietnamese restaurant here in town. I always order the rare flank steak pho, but their entire menu is fantastic! If you’re ever in the area, you have to check out Da Kao. So one night, I was craving some pho but not in the mood to go pick it up, and they were too busy to make a delivery. They were absolutely slammed. If I really wanted some soup, I was going to have to make it myself.  I had some ramen noodles, veggies, broth, and steak on hand, so I grabbed it all and set out to make a satisfactory soup. It was no pho, but it was good and I stuffed the recipe in the back of my mind for the next time I can’t get my Da Kao fix. Let’s get cooking!

You Will Need:
Soup pot (I just used a large sized pot because I was only making enough for dinner that night and a couple lunches)
Beef broth
Water
2 Steaks 6 oz. each (I can’t remember exactly what cut I used, but it was something fairly inexpensive that still looked really good)
Carrot
Bean Sprouts
Snow Peas
Low Sodium Soy Sauce
Ramen Noodles (rice noodles would be best, ramen is what I had on hand)
Onion powder
Red Pepper Flake
Cayenne Pepper
Lemon Pepper
Garlic powder
Salt and Pepper to taste

To start, fill your pot up just shy of half way with broth and come behind that with some water so the pot is 3/4ths full of liquid. Set your heat to medium/medium-high, add the seasonings to your liking, and let that all go while you get the veggies and meat ready. If you think your broth needs a little more flavor, either add more seasonings to taste, or throw in a chicken (or beef) bouillon cube. Bring the broth to a rolling boil, add the noodles, and then turn the heat down to low or off  when the noodles are done but before adding the meat and veggies. This will make sure the meat gets cooked perfectly, and the veggies stay bright. Add a drizzle of soy sauce at the end if you want, but I think it adds that je ne sais quoi that takes the soup to the next level.

I cut the meat fairly thin so it cooks a little quicker in that boiling hot liquid. I do like my meat more on the rare side, so I don’t add it to the liquid until I’m ready to eat. When it comes to the veggies, I like to julienne the carrots so they’re nice and thin, but add ’em in with the sprouts right at the end so they don’t get overdone. To dish this up, I get a big soup bowl and put the raw meat right in the bottom. Then I add the broth and noodles, and finally the veg on top.

This recipe is super easy to not only make, but customize to your own tastes. It’s great for a dreary day, and really hits the spot when you’re craving something savory.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

