Burger Time!

on

Who doesn’t love a good burger? Admittedly, I’m not as big on burgers as most people, but I do enjoy one from time to time. I had written this recipe with the intention of posting it last Wednesday, but I’ve been busy with some changes that kept me away for a week. (Don’t worry, everything is fine). So it was supposed to be for the 4th of July, but I’m a day late. I hope everyone had a fun (and safe) time celebrating!

For this recipe, we’re going to do a stuffed beef patty. If you wanted to go for a vegetarian alternative, you could make a black bean patty. I have a great recipe and cooking instructions for that in my Memorial Day blog! It’s one of my favorite meat alternatives, and it’s incredibly easy to make. I usually cook the black bean patties in a cast iron pan because I’m afraid of it sticking on the grill grates, and I don’t typically stuff them, but you can try. Let me know if you do, and how it goes! Now let’s get cooking!

Other than seasoning the patties, there is a little bit of prep work involved with this recipe. We’re going to make a corn “salsa” and mix it in with some Newman’s Own Southwest dressing to put on top of the burger. So in a mixing bowl, throw in some corn. You can used canned corn for this, but drain and rinse it first. This will get rid of some of the metallic taste that comes with using canned vegetables. Then get two jalapenos, a poblano, a red bell pepper, and seed and dice them. Toss those in with the corn, squeeze some lime juice, and a little bit of the salad dressing over the whole thing and mix it all together. Once that’s done, just set it aside and let everything get to know each other. Before we start on the patty, slice some tomatoes to put on the burger, and get some spinach (or any other greens you like).

I think for this particular burger, I’m going to stuff it with pepper jack cheese just for a little added heat. We’re going to season the beef patty rather simply, so the flavors of the cheese and toppings can really shine. Stuffing a burger is an easy way to add a fun surprise and lots of flavor to the patty. I like to season the meat first, and for this recipe we’re just going to use salt, pepper, and a little bit of Lowry’s. Even though it’s a simple seasoning, make sure you season really well to give the meat a lot of nice flavor.
When I stuff burgers, I like to make two thin patties and put the cheese in-between them. I make the patties thin because the beef will puff up a bit as it shrinks in, so make the patties bigger than the buns you’re using. You can stuff burgers with a seemingly endless number of things, but for this we’ll just be using cheese. I prefer to shred the cheese myself and stuff the patty because I find it melts a little bit better than sliced cheese and stuffs easier (and it’s easier to add more than just with slices…who doesn’t love that).

On your grill, cook the burgers for 5-7 minutes on each side. During the last couple minutes of cooking, spread a little butter on both sides of a ciabatta bun, and toast them. When your burgers come off the grill, get some pepper jack cheese on them right away. You can use shredded or sliced, either one works just as well. Once the patties are off the grill and the cheese has started to melt, we can assemble the burger. I like to assemble it as follows: bottom bun, spinach, slice of tomato, patty with melted cheese, the corn “salsa” and dressing mixture, top bun.

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July. My husband and I were able to get together with family we haven’t seen a while, and it was really nice. That’s all for me today, I’ll have a new recipe up tomorrow since I missed last week. Until then, be sure to like and share my page on Facebook, follow me on twitter, and follow me on instagram! I appreciate all the support! Happy cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

